First Trip to the Letort

With one last weekend before starting crazy hours at work, I needed to get out and fish. A friend and I decided to make the trip to the cumberland valley yesterday morning to fish the Letort.

Being my first time fishing any of PA’s famous limestoners, I was pretty excited. This didn’t help during the two hour drive. I think I was counting the mile markers out loud as I got close to my exit. Once I parked around 11:30, I was ready to hit the water.

Click to see original Image in a new window

I only walked a few hundred yards before noticing some risers in some of the slower bends. No doubt the overcast sky was on our side; and looking back, I consider the two of us pretty lucky. I picked up my first two letort browns a few casts apart on a griffith’s gnat.

Click to see original Image in a new window

The fish sipped midges on top for the next couple hours, and my buddy caught his first fish from the stream as well.

Click to see original Image in a new window

Click to see original Image in a new window

We tried tossing sculpins and nymphing a bit, but nothing else produced any luck; and by 3 or so, the risers had gone deep and just about shut down. I already can’t wait to get back, and a few more trips to the area are in order for the new year.

Click to see original Image in a new window

Leave a Reply

